Everything Everything, N. Yoon (ed. Delacorte Books)

Information

Everything Everything, N. Yoon (ed. Delacorte Books)

Page number: 310

Language: English

Price: £7,99 (€9,17)

Release date: September 2015

Themes: Romance – Illness – Love – Young Adult – Family difficulties – Fiction – Novel


Rating: 5/5

Summary

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mum and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Review

I had seen this book a long time ago because the cover attracts me but when I had read the summary, I did not buy it. Three weeks ago, I saw the trailer for the film, and I had the desire to read the book before the movie is released. I do not regret it; it is now my favourite of 2017 even if the release year was in 2015.

The book is short, in fact, all the chapters are quite short even if it is text. They are a mix between writing chapters and drawing chapters; as a result, it is a powerful book. During all the book, you laugh, and at the same time, it is touching you. I love this book because even if it is sad, it is not melodramatic so when you finish reading the book it is like you were touch by happiness. However the pleasant feeling change for the surprise at the end of the book.

For the universe, it is the daily life of a girl with a disease which forced her to stay inside. We can see that her life is complicated because of that and she lives in a routine. We discover something that exists, but we do not know it, she lives in a bubble that it is her house. When you read it, you do not want to be at her place. This story is about love, and one thing I like is not silly. We discover a part of this feeling which is the most difficult to understand because she experiments that for the first time. The end of the story is so rough that you want the second book.

We have the main character, Madeline and many others that are surrounding her. Madeline is like a butterfly at the beginning of the story she is the caterpillar, and at the end, she is the butterfly even she is sick because she faces the challenge the life can bring. We have another main character, Olly who is struggling with his life and he is like the light in Maddy’s life. They help each other to go through the challenges of their life even if it does not do on purpose. Maddy’s mum wants to protect her from the world of outside even if it is mean to be overprotective and oppressive. Carla is Maddy’s nurse, and she helps her with all her power because ‘life is a gift, do not waste it’.

Conclusion: I read this book in one go, and even if I not a romantic novel person, it is my favourite book for 2017.

A.

Leave a Reply

